Mailform   Sitemap   Print view  

IKT International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art

Menü

IKT 2020 Virtual Meeting

IKT 2020 Virtual Meeting

Register now!

IKT 2020 Virtual Meeting
"Sustainable Curating in Corona Times"

hosted by Marta Herford and IKT,
proudly supported by Kultursekretariat NRW Gütersloh & Bezirksregierung Detmold

Saturday, October 17, 2020 – 15:00-18:00 CET | 9:00-12:00 am EDT
Sunday, October 18, 2020 – 15:00-18:00 CET | 9:00-12:00 am EDT


Dear IKT members,

The registration for the IKT 2020 Virtual Meeting on October 17 and 18 is now open!

The participation in the virtual meeting is free and open to IKT members as well as to the general public, but registration is mandatory.

SmartEvents, our digital partners, set up a dedicated website where you can register for all events of the two days'

PROGRAM

(please note: this program might be submitted to slight changes)

Day 1: Saturday, October 17, 2020

(CEST = Central European Summer Time | EDT = Eastern Daylight Time)

14:00-15:00 CEST | 8:00-9:00 am EDT
Checking in

15:00 CEST | 09:00 am EDT
STAGE: Welcome and introduction by
IKT President Julia Draganović (Director of Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo, Rome | Italy),
Antje Nöhren (Managing Director of Kultursekretariat NRW Gütersloh | Germany) and
Alfredo Cramerotti (Director of MOSTYN, Wales | UK)

15:15 CEST | 09:15 am EDT
STAGE: It's showtime from Marta Herford by
Roland Nachtigäller (Director of Marta Herford | Germany)

15:20 CEST | 09:20 am EDT
STAGE: A global outlook: stories from curators around the world, among them
Juraj Carny (Curatorial Studies Institute, Bratislava | Slovak Republic)
Biljana Ciric (Independent Curator, Melbourne | Australia)
O'Neil Lawrence (Senior Curator at the National Gallery of Jamaica, Kingston | Jamaica)
René Morales (Curator at Pérez Art Museum, Miami | USA)
Rahraw Omarzad (Prof Faculty of Fine Arts Kabul University, Founder of the Center for Contemporary Arts Afghanistan CCAA & Founder of Women Art Center Kabul | Afghanistan)
Julien Robson (Independent Curator & Director of Great Meadows Foundation, Louisville, Kentucky | USA)
Paula Toppila (Executive Director and Curator of Pro Arte Foundation and IHME Contemporary Art Festival, Helsinki | Finland)
Eugenio Viola (Chief Curator of MAMBO Modern Art Museum of Bogota | Columbia)
Video presentations by
Nahela Hechavarría Pouymiró (Curator and Visual Art Specialist of Casa de las Américas, Havana | Cuba)
Marina Reyes Franco (Curator at Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Puerto Rico (MAC), San Juan | Puerto Rico)
Maayan Sheleff (Independent curator and artistic advisor of the Art Cube Artists’ Studios Jerusalem, Tel Aviv | Israel)

16:30 CEST | 10:30 am EDT
SESSIONS: talking with the world
Debates and discussions in chat rooms

17:00 CEST | 11:00 am EDT
STAGE: "Consequence Paralysis"
– a lecture by Till Briegleb

17:30 CEST | 11:30 am EDT
SESSION: Q & A with Till Briegleb and the audience

17:50 CEST | 11:50 am EDT
STAGE: Summary and outlook by
Julia Draganov
ić & Alfredo Cramerotti

18:00 CEST | 12:00 pm EDT
End of first day

Day 2: Sunday, October 18, 2020

15:00 CEST | 9:00 am EDT
STAGE: Welcome and introduction by
IKT President Julia Draganović (Director of Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo, Rome | Italy) and
Alfredo Cramerotti (Director of MOSTYN, Wales | UK)

15:10 CEST | 9:10 am EDT
STAGE: Tools for sustainable curating: panel discussion with inputs by
Thomas Oberender, Artistic and Managing Director of Berliner Festspiele & curator of the ‘unplugged exhibition’ Down to Earth hosted by the Gropius Bau in Summer 2020 (Berlin | Germany)
Lucia Pietroiusti, Curator of General Ecology at the Serpentine Galleries (London | UK), and
Farid Rakun, Member of the Indonesian collective ruangrupa & curator of the fifteenth edition of documenta (Jakarta | Indonesia);
moderated by Ombretta Agró, IKT board member & Executive Director ARTSail Residency and Research Program (Miami | USA)

16:00 CEST | 10:00 am EDT
STAGE: Q & A with panelists and the audience

16:20 CEST | 10:20 am EDT
SESSIONS: Intimate discussions facilitated by IKT members in working groups:
Bayardo Blandino (Artistic director of the Asociación Mujeres en las Artes "Leticia de Oyuela" - Women in the Arts MUA, Tegucigalpa | Honduras) on “Creative funding through international collaborations: a case study in Honduras”;
Neringa Bumbliene (Curator at the Contemporary Art Centre (CAC) in Vilnius | Lithuania) on “Adapting to the Corona times: Artist-Less Exhibitions, Digital Tours, and More”;
Michele Fiedler (Independent Curator, Montreal | Canada) on “The role of museums in the post-pandemic time”;
Vanina Saracino (Independent Curator, Berlin | Germany) on “Independent curating in times of isolation: creative evolution and survival strategies”

17:00 CEST | 11:00 am EDT
STAGE: Presentation of the outcomes of the working groups by
Alfredo Cramerotti & facilitators of each group

17:30 CEST | 11:30 am EDT
STAGE: Ask the curator: how much are we willing to change?
Presenting the results of the poll by

17:40 CEST | 11:40 am EDT
STAGE: Farewell

18:00 CEST | 12:00 am EDT
End of the meeting

18:00-19:00 CEST | 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm EDT
Closing the day

The program is also available as download here.

During the registration process we encourage each one of you to upload photos, your bio and links to websites and social media so that we can get to know each other even before the meeting starts.
 
The platform offers a calendar function, which automatically saves the events you are interested in into your calendar.

REGISTER here!

IN ORDER TO MINIMIZE TECHNICAL GLITCHES, YOU'LL FIND A FEW IMPORTANT AND HELPFUL NOTES HERE !

We are very much looking forward to sharing with you all interesting discussions and an exciting exchange of experiences!

Cordially,
Your IKT team

About IKT

IKT is the international association of curators of contemporary art. It is a members organisation that represents the professional interests of curators from across the world and brings them together to exchange ideas. more ...

Twitter    Facebook-Link

PayPal

IKT membership fee options: Please click on the arrows to choose from 3 different payment options.

Reminiscences of the
IKT Congress 2019

Visit our gallery 2019 here.

IKT International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art e. V.
c/o Kunsthalle Osnabrueck

Hasemauer 1
49074 Osnabrueck
Germany
(P.O. Box 4460 | 49034 Osnabrueck | Germany)
T: +49 541. 323-4449 | F: +49 541 323-2409
mail [at] iktsite [dot] org
www.iktsite.org

bank data
account holder: IKT International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art
bic: NOLADE22XXX        account:
IBAN DE13 2655 0105 1551 5039 96